West African Economic and Monetary Union

The West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) is an organization of eight West African states was established in 1994. The eight countries in UEMOA are also members of The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), which was founded in 1975 to achieve integration across the region through the creation of a single large trading block through an economic and trading union.

UEMOA’s aim is to promote economic integration among countries that share the CFA franc as a common currency. Other objectives of the UEMOA include greater economic competitiveness, the convergence of macro-economic policies and indicators, creation of a common market, coordination of sectoral policies, and harmonization of sectoral policies.
visit this site

This site uses cookies.
Learn more here