The Association of Southeast Asian nations

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organization formed in 1967 by countries in Southeast Asia. Its 10 member countries include Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Its purpose is to accelerate economic growth and social progress while protecting the regional peace and stability.

ASEAN promotes regional cooperation through regional security, social-cultural integration, and economic integration. Member countries of ASEAN have been able to maintain peace in the region through the “ASEAN Way” featuring non-interference, informality, minimal institutionalization, consultation and consensus, non-use of force and non-confrontation have constituted.

Recently, the ASEAN Way has proven itself relatively successful in the settlements of disputes by peaceful manner realm, with Chinese and ASEAN officials agreeing to draft guidelines ordered to avert tension in the South China Sea, an important milestone ending almost a decade of deadlock.

ASEAN member states have been able to make progress towards economic integration through the ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) which eliminates tariffs and non-tariff barriers among ASEAN countries in order to increase ASEAN's competitive edge as a production base and to attract foreign direct investment. The next step in the economic integration is the creation the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC), which will establish a single market and production base.
visit this site

This site uses cookies.
Learn more here